Who Would You Be?

September 21, 2007

Life can be a very interesting ride. We never quite know where it is going to end up. More importantly than what you want to have your life be about, which is valid in steering one’s life, the topic about who you would like to become draws more gravity, and rightfully so, it demands more attention.

As a child, I, like most children was asked, what do you want to be when you get older? The common response by most includes a “police officer, firefighter, astronaut, teacher,” and so on. What did you answer? What were your desires as a child?

After a certain age we begin to just take life as it comes. We too often succumb to the whims of the world. It is just like the tongue in cheek, half-hearted joke – “most people work hard towards their dreams until they are 40. Do you know what happens then? They give up!”

Sadly, we never really decide what we want to do with our life or whom we would like to be in the first place. Even less, the average person never really gets any real traction in a particular direction. They then tend to exist. This is truly sad.

Quite frankly, too many of us are told what we are to do. These unsolicited suggestions arrive from well intentioned, yet meddling parents, friends, teachers, siblings, extended family, and coworkers. We never quite gain a good foothold as to what our lives should really be about. They work to tell us what to do and they attempt to live their lives through us. Fortunately, they are not us and we have the choice to choose; sadly, most only exist.

Is it really a wonder that most of us never have our lives amount to much because we never stop to consider what we really want. Most people spend more time picking out a birthday present for a friend or family member than they ever will spend in designing their life. Lesser yet, nearly zero time and effort is exerted to produce a result that was never a consideration in the first place. Probably even worse than that is that we never really decide who we want to be. We tend to “roll with the punches” of life and “take things as they come” just like a leaf in a fast moving stream.

What is the natural result of inaction and zero focus? – nothing! Doesn’t zero action and zero focus equal the same sum – nothing? Is it any wonder why people are so miserable? They have nothing to live for, or at least, they are not living for anything! Again, what would you do with your life and who would you become if you had the choice?

Thankfully, we all have the choice! We have the ability to make our lives and to make ourselves as we choose. One sad factor is that most people never consciously choose because they didn’t know that they had the choice in the first place, they just take the handouts of life. Why not start living as you would want?

If you were to decide what you want for your life, what would it be? If you were to decide right now, who are you, who would you say? What would come out? What words would you use to describe yourself? How do those words honestly make you feel? How would you like to feel?

Who you are is called your identity. Your identity is a belief that you have about yourself. This identity determines what you do, how you do it, with whom you affiliate, what you want for yourself, and what standards that you hold. Your identity is the core, it is who you are.

Perhaps you have heard the expression “I think, therefore I am.” Have you ever wondered what this means? It means that if you believe that you are a certain way, then you really are. You create your own reality. Your world is dictated by you. You get that which you focus. More specifically, your focus determines how you feel and you determine your life based upon how you feel. If you feel great, then you attract other great things into your life. If you are anything less than ideal, you are dragging horrible and less than desirable results in your existence.

Who do you believe that you are? Try these phrases on for size. I am a master of influence. I am a propagator of passion. I am a sketcher of the possibilities. I am a builder of people. I am an architect of dreams. I am a plotter of priorities. I am a designer of destinies. I am a landscaper of legacies. I am a nuclear furnace of infinite radiant energy. I am an awesome force for good. I am an unstoppable force for God. I am a free thinking, covert guardian angel. I am a loved child of the most high God. I am a passionate and radiant billionaire philanthropist. I am a lover of all mankind. I am a great Friend. I am a big kid. How do those phrases resonate with you?

If you believed that you are any one of these phrases, how would that impact your life? How could your life change right now if you were to identify your identity beliefs, the beliefs that you have for yourself, and change the ones that do not support you? What could you do if you incorporated some of these beliefs about yourself into your life?

In closing, my grandma had a saying on her wall that I thought was very profound. It made me think and it continues to impact me today. “Our life is a gift from God, what we do with that life and who we become is our gift to God.” That phrase stirs my soul and I hope that it stirs your soul too!

Become a gift for God. Create your life as you would choose. Do it intentionally. Make the choice to create a life of passion that is worthy of having books written about you. Make your life a masterpiece!

www.thelawofattractiongroup.com

2 Responses to “Who Would You Be?”

  1. Radiant Rebekah said

    Wow, what an amazing and eye opening entry!

    Those words most definitely ressonate with me and make me want to go out and conquer whatever is before me! Also the saying that is on your grandmothers wall is so true, yet so few people make their lives a gift for God! I WILL purpose to make my life a gift to God as well as to BE THE CHANGE that I want to see in the world!

  2. thelawofattractiongroup said

    I am so glad to hear that you are so ambitious and willing to do what it takes to live your life at such a high level. Those with high standards are hard to find.

    You are most certainly a great example of living an exceptional life, on purpose!

    I wish you all of the best in this world!

Leave a Reply

