Discover Your Destiny!

November 1, 2007

Have you ever wondered what you would do with your life if you could? What if you could choose? What would you ideally design your life to be about?

For most of my life I was focused on just doing what I had to do. I did my best to have fun at times, but until the middle of college I had no idea what I wanted my life to be about. Even at that time I wasn’t completely sure, but I still was able to gain some direction.

It was the start of my sophomore year of college. I went back to school early to help clean up my fraternity house at Iowa State University. We spent two weeks cleaning during the day and partying at night. Did you ever see the movie Tommy Boy? That was pretty close to the story of my life, quite honestly. In fact, I used to look like Chris Farley, but that is a story for a different time.

At my school it was customary to party all of the nights before school until the big party the first night of class called “AA” which stood for Alcoholics Anonymous… Not really, it was the “Attitude Adjustment” party! How appropriate, right? Mass chaos was enjoyed by all!

The truth is that during all of this partying I apparently killed my immune system and I got “mononucleosis” the first week of school. I had the worst case 4 doctors had ever seen. I was so bad… well, we won’t get into the details, but it is a shocker that I didn’t go to hospital. I lost 25 pounds in two weeks amongst other challenges. My Dad came to pick me up from school the first day I could walk and, needless to say, I eventually dropped out of school.

All of this to say that I had the opportunity that semester to work. I started to learn about business, and I liked it! I had never really wanted to go into business, mostly because the only impression I ever had of business, most likely from cartoons and kid’s shows growing up, is that business is about a grumpy old man sitting behind a desk barking orders. I REALLY thought this!! During this semester off, I worked at a retail store that was quite fun and my perspective started to change. Now, I realized that business could be extremely fun! At that point in my life things started to shift.

Through all of my changes, after I graduated from school, I started to grow and attend seminars. I started to learn that there is a whole different world of learning if we are open to the possibilities. My future rapidly unfolded and I discovered new directions that I chose to go in my life.

It wasn’t always clear which direction to go, but I did know what I liked and what excited me. My passions became fairly obvious. I have always loved learning and growing (with the exception of college because it seemed purposeless and without excitement). I did enjoy becoming a better person. Learning became fun! Consequently, I chose to make learning, personal growth and contribution the cornerstones of my life.

Eventually through the circles that I had attracted, I had the opportunity to work with the world’s best peak performance expert, Tony Robbins. By my involvement I was able to meet and to get to know some of his top trainers. I learned quite a bit by being involved with his organization over those 5 years which propelled me to new levels in my life.

This reminds me of a wonderful movie.  In the movie Mr. Holland’s Opus, Mr. Holland is a music teacher who wants to become great by writing his musical masterpiece; his opus. In the course of life, he becomes distracted, stays with teaching, and he has a profound effect on many student’s lives. In fact, he ends up retiring from the school with outstanding accolades. I don’t want to ruin the movie, here is the moral of the story; many times you may not get what you want, but rather you get what you need – which is your destiny.

Just like in the movie, our lives take turns that we do not always understand. At times our predicaments seem to thwart our current efforts. We may get bitter or disappointed because of what is happening right now. Remember, to quote the Bible, “this too shall pass.” Sometimes these changes are necessary to get you to go the direction that you are supposed to go.   Realistically, challenges are not necessarily fun, but necessary to unveil the life that is truly in your best interest.

Why have some of the things in your life not worked the way that you wanted? Where has your past been taking you? Where might you need to go? These answers are the constructs of your ultimate path. I trust that you will take a minute to ponder life-focused questions.

I truly hope that you continue to attract great things into your life and perhaps one day you will be blessed with the realization of your true destiny!

Remember to enjoy life and smile today!

 www.thelawofattractiongroup.com

2 Responses to “Discover Your Destiny!”

  1. Love&Forgiveness said

    Have you discovered your destiny?

  2. thelawofattractiongroup said

    I do believe that I have discovered my destiny. The only challenge is that right when we (I in this case) think that we (I) have found it, it seems to change. That is at least how the past has been.

    At this point, I believe that I have narrowed down my focus to a very small, laser-like focus and I intend to continue on this path.

    Thank you for asking! Do you feel that you have discovered your destiny? If not, where are you on your own journey?

Leave a Reply

